Looking at shape, tone and angles rather than the objects.  I tried similar objects to the first bread and cheese, then branched into glass containers loving the light and vague shapes coming through them.  Finally I tried my handbag, emptying the articles that were in it.

Trying glass containers and kitchen items

Trying out handbag and items sketches

Trying out kitchen containers

Sitting in the sun for 3-4 hours meant that the sun moved and the shadows changed. I didn’t realize how valuable looking back at the photo for light reference would be.  I will try to use lamps for longer works.  For now, I need to redo this study with a fixable light source.

Drawing in the sunshine at the beginning of the day

Drawing for ‘Man-made’ Assignment, A3 loose paper, charcoal and coloured pencil

