I had a wonderful time Friday morning.  There was a new teacher, Marie, at my drawing class filling in for Joan while she helped hang  her exhibition.

I first watched her demo as she drew on a easel.  Putting a grid in and then outlining in Willow charcoal.  Filling in shapes in block local colour.  Then adding tone.  Looking at counterchange.  Light against dark.  After morning tea we got to work and I did mine within the remaining hour.

A photograph of fruit - still life

I filled in block shapes with local colour

I loved the immediacy of the pastel.  How vibrant the colour and even texture after working   with watercolour for so long. How it ties together shape, tone, colour.  I think I want to buy a set.  A starter set and use this in my life class and elsewhere.  Woke up Saturday dreaming about it…

Covering more of the page. Test colours are below the drawing

A finished pastel drawing

